NASCAR Truck Series

Matt Crafton celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Truck Series auto racing season championship, Friday, Nov. 15, 2019, at Homestead-Miami Speedway in Homestead, Fla. (AP Photo/Terry Renna)
November 15, 2019 - 11:41 pm
HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) — Matt Crafton won a championship without winning a race, an unprecedented feat under NASCAR’s new title-deciding playoff systems. Crafton finished second in Friday night’s Truck Series finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway — good enough for his third series title in the winner-...
Read More
FILE - In this Oct. 26, 2019, file photo, Brett Moffitt (24) competes during a NASCAR Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway, in Martinsville, Va. The NASCAR Truck Series has its championship race Friday, Nov. 15, 2019, at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Brett Moffitt, Matt Crafton and Stewart Friesen join Ross Chastain in the championship field. Moffitt is the defending series champion and will try to become the first repeat winner since Crafton in 2013 and 2014. (AP Photo/Steve Helber, File)
November 14, 2019 - 1:09 pm
HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) — Ross Chastain had the talent to compete for a NASCAR championship. The path he took to race for the Truck Series title reads almost as a work of fiction. "I bet y’all didn't expect to see me here," Chastain said. "Man, this is crazy." His year started with an FBI raid of his...
Read More
Martin Truex Jr., left, and his girlfriend Sherry Pollex, right, pose with the trophy as he celebrates after winning a NASCAR Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Va., Sunday, Oct. 27, 2019. (AP Photo/Steve Helber)
October 28, 2019 - 4:52 pm
MARTINSVILLE, Va. (AP) — Kyle Busch is slowly coughing away his championship chances and Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano are fighting — again. Chase Elliott has fast cars but awful luck, while Kevin Harvick has barely made a whisper in the playoffs. Ryan Blaney continues to rise on NASCAR's biggest...
Read More
Kyle Busch, right, shakes the hand of Todd Gilliland as he celebrates winning the NASCAR Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Va., Saturday, Oct. 26, 2019, (AP Photo/Steve Helber)
October 26, 2019 - 5:45 pm
MARTINSVILLE, Va. (AP) — Todd Gilliland won his first career Truck Series race by holding off championship contender Ross Chastain in overtime at Martinsville Speedway. Gilliland passed Chastain for the lead in regulation on Saturday and had a decent cushion until an accident between Natalie Decker...
Read More
October 26, 2019 - 12:34 pm
MARTINSVILLE, Va. (AP) — Matt Tifft fell ill before practice at Martinsville Speedway and was taken to a hospital for tests. Matt Crafton replaced him. Crafton drove the No. 36 for Front Row Motorsports in both of Saturday's practices. Tifft is in his first Cup season and has one top-10 finish in...
Read More
Camping World Truck Series driver Spencer Boyd (20) celebrates in Victory Lane after being declared the winner as driver Johnny Sauter (13) was disqualified during the Sugarlands Shine 250 at Talladega Superspeedway, Saturday, Oct 12, 2019, in Talladega, Ala. (AP Photo/Butch Dill)
October 12, 2019 - 5:02 pm
TALLADEGA, Ala. (AP) — Spencer Boyd was named winner of the Truck Series race Saturday after Johnny Sauter was stripped of the victory for forcing a driver below the out-of-bounds line at Talladega Superspeedway. Sauter had blocked his way around the 2.66-mile superspeedway for the final two-lap...
Read More
FILE - In this July 14. 2012, file photo, driver Michael Stefanik smiles as he shows off how much he won by during the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour auto race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, N.H. Stefanik beat Ron Silk. Modified stock car great Stefanik has been killed in a single-engine plane crash. He was 61. State police say the crash happened Sunday afternoon, Sept. 15, 2019, in Sterling near the Rhode Island state line. (AP Photo/Jim Cole, File)
September 15, 2019 - 10:53 pm
STERLING, Conn. (AP) — Modified stock car great Michael Stefanik has been killed in a single-engine plane crash. He was 61. State police say the crash happened Sunday afternoon in Sterling near the Rhode Island state line. They say the single-engine, single-seat Aerolite 103 took off from the...
Read More
FILE - At left, in a Feb. 16, 2018, file photo, Johnny Sauter celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Truck Series auto race at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Fla. At right, in a July 27, 2019, file photo, Ross Chastain celebrates in victory lane after winning a NASCAR Truck Series auto race in Long Pond, Pa. Brett Moffitt, Ross Chastain, Austin Hill, Johnny Sauter, Stewart Friesen, Tyler Ankrun, Grant Enfinger and Matt Crafton are competing in the NASCAR Truck Series playoffs. (AP Photo/File)
August 14, 2019 - 3:14 pm
CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — This was supposed to be the breakout year for Ross Chastain, whose hard work caught the eye of a sponsor who promised to fund the eighth-generation watermelon farmer in the best ride of his career. Chastain was moving up to a competitive car in the Xfinity Series with a true...
Read More
Matt Sampson, left, and Chase Briscoe, right, hold up a NASCAR Xfinity Series auto race championship trophy, Saturday, July 27, 2019, at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa. (AP Photo/Matthew Putney)
August 02, 2019 - 9:48 pm
WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (AP) — Six days after his first Xfinity Series victory of the season and not-so-fresh from a disheartening loss in the Truck Series race at Eldora only hours earlier, Chase Briscoe was ready for the challenge of Watkins Glen International. "I definitely want to be higher up on...
Read More
Chase Elliott drives through the garage area after crashing his car during a practice session for Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series auto race, Saturday, July 27, 2019, in Long Pond, Pa. (AP Photo/Derik Hamilton)
July 27, 2019 - 2:21 pm
LONG POND, Pa. (AP) — Let's race two! Pocono Raceway is set to hold a NASCAR Cup Series twin bill next June — with one race on Saturday, one on Sunday, and the second race comes with a twist. The field for the Sunday race will be set by inverting the lead-lap finishers from race No. 1. For example...
Read More