XFL Reveals Team Names And Logos

Jason Huber
August 21, 2019 - 5:00 pm

The XFL unveiled it's eight teams that will be competing once the league debuts on February 8, 2020.

The league originally debuted in 2001 and lasted just one season in what was called "a colossal failure" by founder, wrestler Vince McMahon. 

McMahon announced in 2018 the comeback of the league under Alpha Entertainment with a completely new format and television setup.

The teams are the Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks, Seattle Dragons, Tampa Bay Vipers and Washington Defenders.

“The team names and logos were chosen exclusively to represent the spirit of football fans in their respective cities and signify fun and football, nothing more,” Luck said in the announcement video.

The new XFL will not utilize the same sports entertainment gimmicks as the original and will focus on adjusting rules to increase the speed of play.

Commissioner Oliver Luck, the father of NFL quarterback Andrew Luck, has also said there will be a shorter play clock with fewer commercials and games should finish in less than three hours. 

The teams will play in a combination of NFL, MLB and MLS facilities. The only signed player at the moment is quarterback Landry Jones.

A draft is scheduled for October, followed by a minicamp in December and training camp in January 2020.

Games are set to air on channels including ABC, ESPN and FS1.

Comments ()